top of page
  • Writer's pictureDavian Lorson

Calling my own Sh#t Out


I am racist.


I have racist thoughts on the regular, and it’s not surprising. I am 43 years old and over that time, I have lived in a world where stereotyping and prejudice has been commonplace. When I meet people I don’t know, and all I have to go on is the colour of their skin and the way they dress, I make assumptions about their past and their character. Often these assumptions are wrong, and almost all the time, regardless of whether they are right or wrong, they bear little relevance to that interaction at that time.


Unfortunately, my racism is so ingrained that most of the time I don’t even notice it. But it comes out in my actions. In social gatherings, I am drawn to people of my own race. And I live in an area in which the vast majority of people living there are my own colour.


These prejudice-fueled habits have built up over many years and it will take some time to reset the thinking that causes them. However, I believe the mark of an intelligent person is their ability to analyse their thoughts objectively. Not be controlled by them, but instead act with best future outcomes in mind.


I used to find the TV presenter Paul Henry both bemusing and frightening all at the same time. He would justify his insensitive, insulting comments by saying that he was just expressing what a lot of other New Zealanders were already thinking. Yes, some people probably are thinking these (in some cases, racist) thoughts, but wouldn’t it be great if, instead, we broadcast words and actions that were beneficial to our communities. Not just repeating, and reinforcing the knee-jerk reactions that some people allow the reptilian part of their brains to unleash carelessly into the world.



I am racist.


Conveniently overlooking our own racist views and actions helps to normalise that act of ignorance. It gives others permission to do the same, including those that are more extreme in their racism. We may be only mildly racist comparatively, but when we can’t admit to the few racist thoughts and habits that we do hold, we can’t justifiably ask extremists to be critical about their own beliefs.

And, by not accepting that we are, to some degree, racist, we create an 'us and them', or ‘good guy vs bad guy’, scenario between us and more extreme racists. This causes harm, firstly, because by framing someone as a ‘bad guy’, all other parts of their character are likely to be tarred by the same brush. So, not only do we now have biases towards people of other race, but we now have exaggerated bias towards those more racist than us, and the parts of their character that actually deserve to be given credit.


The additional danger created when someone becomes a ‘bad guy’ is that the way we start communicating with them changes. Empathy and understanding (incredibly important elements for being able to successfully change someone's opinion) are dramatically reduced, and are replaced by mistrust and fear. When a person is viewed as the 'bad guy', you are more likely to speak to them in a way that just gets them angry instead of interested in your ideas.


And you could argue that the biggest benefit that comes with exploring your own prejudices, is simply that analysing it in yourself makes it easier to see it, and understand it, in others.


So, am I suggesting that to successfully combat racism in other people that you must be able to find racism in yourself? Not at all. If you don't have a racist bone in your body, then all power to you. All I am suggesting is that we need to start being much more aware of our own thoughts and actions, and then very proactively counteract these subtle prejudices if we have them. Even if it feels awkward and unnatural, perhaps we need to make ourselves walk across to, and connect with, that group of people at the party who don’t look like us. Or maybe encourage our kids to join that cultural club, even if it means they might initially be a little out of their comfort zone. And maybe even set aside some time to learn more about different cultures we don’t know much about, so we have more empathy and understanding for the different peoples in our diverse community, and to remind ourselves that they have so many amazing things to contribute.



I am racist.


I am the first to agree that this is not ideal, but in the same breath, I can also say that being able to admit my racism is good for one more important reason.


When the racism I am looking at is mine, I have control over it. My racism is the one part of the problem I have direct access to. And, therefore, the easiest place to start creating change.




aimstate

 Blog

 

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page